Presentations on the Future of Libraries and Open Humanities

Yesterday I started the day by discussing the future of academic libraries with an sharp, engaged group of faculty, librarians and staff at Worcester Polytechnic Institute and ended it by advocating for open humanities at WPI’s conference Digitize This: Exploring/Exploiting the Rise of Digital Arts & Digital Humanities. It was a kick that three people whom I consider to be leaders in open humanities–John Unsworth, Julia Flanders and Tom Scheinfeldt–were at my evening presentation.

Here are the slides from my presentations (PDF):

For those who want more, I’ve been obsessively bookmarking resources on open humanities and the future of libraries.

Thanks to Dr. Tracey Leger-Hornby, WPI’s Dean of Library Services and my classmate at the Frye Leadership Institute (go class of 2003!), for hosting my visit, and Prof. Joshua Rosenstock for making it possible for me to speak at the DH symposium.

Update, 11/16/12: After being notified by an attentive reader (thanks Dad!) that my slides contained some typos, I’ve uploaded corrected versions. I hope I caught ’em all.

Leave a Reply

